More Disney Questions Answered – Part 5

21 Sep

Hello again my Disney fanatical friends!  It is once again time for me to try my best to answer your Disney questions.  There was no real theme to the questions this time around so I will just tackle them head on in honor of football season!

Questions #1 – Tre K. from Montreal Canada wrote in to ask, “Hi Brad!  I love your blog and all the pictures you share with your readers.  My family will be heading down to Disney World around Christmas time.  I know you have said you love Disney in the Fall, but what are your thoughts of being there the week of Christmas?  Any help would be great!”

Thanks for writing in Tre.  Disney at Christmas time is simply one of the most beautiful and happy places to be in the world!  I dare anyone to walk around Disney world in December and not have a huge smile on their faces!  It is the best that Christmas has to offer, without any of the colder weather.  The magicians at Disney will even make it “snow” for you at the Magic Kingdom during their evening Christmas parties.  Of course over at Disneys Hollywood Studios the Osbourne Christmas Lights simply must be seen to be believed.  There are more Christmas lights in one place than anywhere else, and the lights dance to music.  So with all of that said, it can also be one of the most crowded places on Earth in mid to late December.  My advice to you is be prepared for very long lines in later December.  Also, during the evenings in December, colder winds blow through and it can get a little bit chilly at night so dress appropriately.  One of these days I’d love to take a Disney Cruise in December to see what that experience is like.  Thanks again Tre and I hope you have a Merry Christmas at Disney World this year.

Question #2 – Shirley H. from Ohio asks, “Brad I have a question for you about Disney World.  I have just started a very serious diet and then we decided to go on vacation to Disney World.  Do I stand a chance at all of eating healthy at Disney World?  if it is anything like my other favorite amusement parks like Kings Island and Cedar Point, then the answer must be No.  Can you help me?”

Shirley, you are certainly in luck as Disney has most recently started taking healthy eating seriously for their guests.  I can honestly tell you that pretty much anywhere you eat, you will find healthier options.  I will also tell you that most often the healthier options tend to be the more expensive options.  If you go for the salad instead of the cheeseburger, then expect to pay around 2-3 dollars more per meal for it.  But overall, their portions are very large on salads, fruit plates, turkey burgers and other healthier options.  You can even find many gluten free options as well.  If you’ve read any of my posts you already know that I love food and I especially love the food at Disney.  I promise you that you will find many healthier options that you will fall in love with as well.  You should definitely try the smoked turkey leg at the Magic Kingdom for a great start.

Question #3 – Elizabeth G. from Arizona wrote in to ask, “Hey Brad!  Thank you so much for sharing your love of Disney with us.  Every time I read one of your posts it makes me remember all of the great times I have spent at Disney World.  I wanted to ask you, what are some of your favorite collectibles that you have purchased at Disney World over the years?  Thanks again for the awesome blog!”

Thank you Elizabeth!  I always appreciate kind words about the blog and I love sharing my love of Disney with all of you.  Now on to your question.  This is an incredibly hard question, right on par with asking any parent which of their kids is their favorite.  But if I had to make a short list of some of my favorites, I would say that my Haunted Mansion Tomb Stones that light up that I put out for Halloween are right up there as one of my favorites.  Of course my first set of Mickey Mouse ears that I got on my honeymoon are among my most precious collectibles.  We have purchased and traded a million Disney pins and each one has a story behind it so I love looking at them.  I could go on forever on this topic because I have over 22 years of going to Disney behind me so needless to say we have a ton of stuff – from Christmas ornaments, to collectible statues, to lithographs, to signed books from Disney authors.  Oddly enough we did not start buying the new Vinylmations and don’t plan to, so I guess we can say that we don’t buy EVERYTHING sells!  Thanks for your question Elizabeth.

As always, I truly appreciate each and every one of you who takes the time to read the blog and write in with your question and well wishes and kind words.  You simply are the best and I love hearing from you.  I’ll see ya back here again real soon and I hope you have a very magical weekend!

Leave a comment