Archive | 11:17 pm

Frequently Asked (crazy) Questions

23 May

So Jeff W. from California wrote in and asked me, “Hey Brad!  Thanks for taking the time to answer people’s questions.  I have always been afraid to ask questions in a public forum like this in case my question would seem dumb or crazy.  What are some of the dumb/crazy questions that you have received?

Well let me start by saying that there are no dumb questions Jeff.  If you are wondering about something, you should never be afraid to ask.  You just might learn something and people who know the answers are usually chomping at the bit to share their knowledge.  Few things make me happier than when someone writes me and tells me that my advice either saved them money or time on their visit to Disney World.  I know how expensive a trip to Disney World can be, and I also know that no one likes waiting in long lines to ride their favorite rides, so if I can help in any way, I am always glad to.  Actually, I am quite surprised at just how many questions I have gotten since I started writing this blog and writing for DisneyByTheNumbers.  

Now with that said, I do get quite a few “crazy” questions so I will share a few of them with you here.  Maybe you’ll find them as funny as I have over the years.  So in no particular order, here are some of the more “goofy” questions I have received over the years:

ImageDid someone say GOOFY!!!

#1 – What time is the 3 o’clock parade?

You may have to read this one a couple of times to see why it is a little goofy, but in the end you will see that the question answers itself!  Yes, the Magic Kingdom does indeed have a 3 o’clock parade that happens every day at 3 o’clock, so I just started to hope that the person who asked me this actually thought that the NAME of the parade was the “3 o’clock parade”.  Either that or they were really, really tired!

#2 – Where in the parks can me and my kids see Bugs Bunny?

Ummmmmmmm, uhhhhhhhhh, wrong company!!!   Bugs Bunny is wholly owned by Warner Brothers and has never been owned by Disney.  Ever!  Yet so many people have asked me where they can find either Bugs Bunny or Tweety Bird in the parks.  I just smile and tell them they can find them at any other park than the one I am currently in.  That way there is one less person I have to wait in line behind for Splash Mountain!!  Just kidding!  Of course, I always tell them that Warner Brothers owns the character and unfortunately they won’t be seeing them anywhere in a Disney owned park.

#3 – I heard Walt Disney has himself frozen after he died in hopes that they could thaw him out when they found a cure for his cancer.

Nope.  Never happened.  Walt was of course very intelligent when in came to new technology and he did research cryogenics according to his daughter Diane Disney Miller, but she also verified that Walt was not cryogenically frozen after his death, but was buried in a family owned plot.  I personally wish there was a way to bring ole Walt back.  The world sure does need more visionaries and thought leaders like Walt Disney.  

#4 – If Goofy is a dog, why can he talk?

Well ummmm, Mickey talks too right?  And Donald, and Minnie, and Daisy.  Why is it that people think that of all the animals in the Disney stable of characters that dogs shouldn’t talk.  Of course, Pluto doesn’t talk and he is a dog, but Disney does claim that Goofy isn’t really a dog, but has the mannerisms of a dog instead.  Goofy started life as Dippy Dog before they changed his name to Goofy so there might be something to this question after all!

And finally, #5 –  How long have Mickey and Minnie Mouse been married?

Not a single day!  Now in the comic strips many years ago Mickey and Minnie had a mock wedding, where all their friends attended and it sure enough looked like a real wedding.  Disney did this to gage the publics reaction to it, and the overall reaction was not great actually, so they never have married them off in “real life”, or as real as two fictional characters can get.

So that is it for Mythbusters Disney Edition for tonight!  I love taking your questions and answering them, no matter how goofy they may be.  Thanks for spending some time with me today, and I hope you have had a truly magical day!  If you have any questions, or even a suggestion for a blog topic, please feel free to email me or leave them in the comments section below.  You can always feel free to leave me comments and know that no one else but me sees them, so if you are afraid that your questions may be goofy, fear not, as only I will know.

I’ll be back tomorrow with more Disney goodness for you, so I’ll see ya real soon!

May The Dark Side Be With You!

23 May

Image

In honor of Star Wars Weekends going on this month and next at Disney’s Hollywood Studios, I thought I would share a quick story of just how much fun Star Wars Weekends can be.

Not only do you get to meet some of your favorite stars who were in all of the Star Wars movies, not only can you get pictures with them and get autographs with them, but you can watch them dance off against each other!  It’s true and boy some of these folks would have easily made the Solid Gold Top 10 list!  Here is a link to another great Disney bsed website titled “Inside The Magic”.  It is ran by a guy who truly loves Disney and runs the best Disney news podcast there is.  His name is Ricky Brigante and he manages to be at Disney whenever anything cool is happening and he always takes the best video and audio of the events.  This link will take you to his Hyperspace Hoopla page where you can watch this years Dance Off Between The Dark Side and the Light Side.  In my opinion, this year the Dark Side won, but as with every other year, they lose and Vader ends up throwing Palpatine down a very long and dark shaft.

http://www.insidethemagic.net/tag/hyperspace-hoopla/

I hope you enjoy the videos and as always, May the Force Be With You.  I’ll see you back here real soon where tomorrow’s post will once again answer more of your questions.  Have a very blessed day!